Yummy Goodness at The Brickworks Farmers’ Market

Name: The Brickworks Farmers’ Market
Where: Toronto, ON
Cuisine: Regional
Affordability: Various
Website: http://ebw.evergreen.ca/

*This post will be different from the others as I will be updating it as often as what I hope to be many returns to the Brickworks Farmers’ Market this summer. Since this will not be one particular restaurant, but a collection of food stands in the market, I will do “blog snippets” instead of a full write-up. So just bear with me.

Tim Clément’s Crêpes

Breakfast Special

The line up to get one is a little long but is it ever worth the wait; hey make the crêpes in front of you!

I was reading the different displays about Tim Clément’s Crêpes and learned that the crêpes are hand-spun with organic whole wheat flour, organic-free range eggs, whole milk, seas salt and ingredients from the market farmers.

I had the Breakfast Crêpes Special ($9) with extra mushrooms and spinach (extra $1). The special has fried egg, mozzarella cheese, smoked ham, onions, and their special blend of hollandaise sauce. You can add two additional items for $1 so I chose mushrooms and spinach. They have three stations, two of which makes the crêpes and one that make burritos. Yes, they also offer burritos, which I have to try at another time. They also offer a mini crêpe for those with smaller appetites.

Tim Clément of Clément's Crépes

But you’re going to want the normal serving. It was certainly very nice and served piping hot (like I said, they prepare it in front of you). All the flavours married nicely in the crêpe and you can taste the freshness of the ingredients. The flavours just explode when you use ingredients that are local and in season. And I think Tim Clément’s Crépes prides itself of that. I’m sure when I come back next time, I will see new fruits and vegetables that are in season in the fillings.

Merchant’s of Green Coffee

Boy was I glad these guys were at The Brickworks! A good, good cup of coffee without the all the frills.

I was first introduced to Merchant’s of Green Coffee when I lived in the Beaches Area a few years back by a friend. Even though their location is more in the Leslieville/Riverdale (2 Matilda Street at Queen Street East and Broadview), I had made treks to buy coffee beans there for personal use and for our office.

Merchant’s of Green Coffee takes pride in the production and sale of high quality sustainable coffees. I remember the first time we went to their store, we were not only shown the quality and types of beans they had and how they were produced, we were shown a demonstration of their personal home roaster also including the varying degrees of how coffee beans were roasted and how that alters the flavour. It will really give you the opportunity to personalize your coffee to your liking!

I would really suggest you try their brew when you find yourself at The Brickworks Farmers’ Market. Or better yet, visit them at their location and try out their coffee there. You will learn more about their campaigns and their sustainability programmes. You can also visit them online to learn more at: http://www.merchantsofgreencoffee.com

2 thoughts on “Yummy Goodness at The Brickworks Farmers’ Market

Leave a comment